Video: Evgeny Grachyov rips a shot through the goal net in the KHL

The NHL recently had a goal scored which went through the outside of the net and still counted. Now, the KHL has upped the ante with a goal that ripped through the back of the net.

Evgeny Grachyov released a powerful slapper which entered the net and tore through the side netting. After some confusion, it was ruled that Grachyov had scored and the goal counted.

What is going on with hockey nets lately? Whether it’s the NHL or the KHL, they both seem to have the same flaw with the netting located near the post. Both leagues need to examine their nets to make sure plays like these stay an anomaly and don’t become a regular event.

About David Rogers

Editor for The Comeback and Contributing Editor for Awful Announcing. Lover of hockey, soccer and all things pop culture.